Ugo Fano UGO FANO PRIZE 2019
for Materials Science, Light Science & Life Science

Rome Dec 20, 2019
Venue: Marconi Hall (1st floor), CNR Headquarters, P.le A. Moro 7, 00185 Rome, Italy


Ugo Fano Prize 2019 and
Ugo Fano Symposium on Quantum Matter, Complex systems, Materials and Life Science 2019


CHAIRMEN: Antonio Bianconi, Gaetano Campi, Augusto Marcelli and Andrea Perali

TOPICS: Fano Resonances, Majorana states, Majorana Fermions,  Quantum topology and devices, Topological room temperature superconductivity, Correlated disorder, Non-Euclidean geometries, Hyperbolic space, Coherence and correlations in living matter

SUPPORTED BY: Superstripes-onlus, Institute of cristallography, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, CNR, Università di Camerino, European Academy of Sciences, Latvian Academy of Sciences.





Admission to the Ugo Fano Symposium, the Ugo Fano Gold Medal Ceremony, Premio Ugo Fano Giovani is free.

If you are interested to participate in this event you need the permission to be admitted in the Symposium Hall : Aula Marconi of CNR building, Piazzale Aldo Moro 7, 00185 Roma,

Therefore please send an email writing your intention to participate in the event

to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

with your name, your address, your email and your mobile telephone number


If you are interested to participate and to present a poster or oral communication we invite to register yourself by sending an abstract as soon as possible and before Dec. 5, 2019

with Title: ----, Names of authors:…,Affiliations …, text of a length between 800 and 1300 characters including spaces …, and few references to recent related papers ….

to the Ugo Fano Symposium secretariat at the email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Participants are invited to send a participation lump sum of 100,00 euro to contribute for the expenses of the symposium organization including the symposium materials:

  • Superstripes bag
  • Symposium program
  • eBook of Symposium Proceedings


  • Coffee breaks

The expenses for any lunch and for social dinner are not covered by the conference organization.

Pay your partecipation fee to a verifed non profit organization superstripes-onlus using the Bank Transfer procedure (please, see instructions below) and send payment details via email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Using the "Bank Transfer" procedure

Please make sure that the Bank transfer fees are charged to the sender


  • account holder : SUPERSTRIPES-onlus
  • holder address: Via dei Sabelli 119A, 00185 Roma
  • Fiscal Code: 97241860580


  • bank name: CREDIT AGRICOLE Agenzia 137-Roma 25
  • IBAN code: IT57X0623005031000040475382
  • SWIFT code: CRPPIT2P137
  • mentioning for identification: 1.YOUR SURNAME & NAME - 2.YOUR TOWN - 3. Ugo Fano Symposium 2019



We suggest the partecipants to book one of these hotels near the Symposium site:

Hotel Astoria Garden -

Hotel Piemonte -

Hotel Laurentia -

Ateneo Garden Palace -



Winner of the 2016 Ugo Fano Gold Medal


John Pendry

John Pendry

Professor Sir
Blackett Laboratory
Imperial College
London, UK

Scientific reference:
J. B. Pendry, Negative Refraction Makes a Perfect Lens, Phys. Rev. Lett. 85, 3966 (2000)

Personal web page:

John Pendry has made seminal contributions to surface science, disordered systems and photonics. His most recent work has introduced a new class of materials, metamaterials, whose electromagnetic properties depend on their internal structure rather than their chemical constitution. Pendry discovered that a ‘perfect lens’ manufactured from negatively refracting material would circumvent Abbé’s diffraction limit to spatial resolution, which has stood for more than a century. His most recent innovation of ‘transformation optics’ gives the metamaterial specifications required to rearrange electromagnetic field configurations at will, by representing the field distortions as a warping of the space in which they exist. In its simplest form the theory shows how we can direct field lines around a given obstacle and thus provide a ‘cloak of invisibility’, which was first realised at Duke in 2006.





Winners of the 2015 Ugo Fano Gold Medal


Lev Gor'kov

Lev Gor'kov

Florida State University in Tallahassee, Florida,

National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, Florida,

Landau Institute of Theoretical Physics

Scientific reference:
L. P. Gor'kov, "Developing BCS Ideas in the Former Soviet Union," in BCS: 50 Years, ed. Leon N. Cooper and Dmitri Feldman (Singapore: World Scientific: 2011), 107-126

Personal web page

Photo Credit: Department of Physics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, courtesy AIP Emilio Segrè Visual Archives

Lev Gor'kov

Mikhail Eremets

Max-Planck-Institut für Chemie, Mainz

Scientific reference:
Drozdov, A.P., Eremets, M.I., Troyan, I.A., Ksenofontov, V. & Shylin, S.I. Nature Nature 524, 277 (20 August 2015)

Personal web page